Friendship · Life · Uncategorized

To My Best Friend

Wow. Where do I even begin? Friendship is so weird, you meet someone and then decide you like the human, and suddenly you have a human to tell everything to. Having someone like you is one of the best gifts the world could have given me. When I cry, you listen. When I laugh, you laugh (even if it is just at me). I wish everyone had a best friend like you, but you are mine.

The best thing you could have ever done was love me when I didn’t love myself, and tell me it was okay when I thought I was falling apart. You stood by me through everything. You believed that I was going to be okay, and you convinced me to believe that too. You wanted me to be in your life. You made me feel like I needed to stay when I wanted to run away. You always knew I was stronger than I thought I was. Thank you for always reminding me of that.

Friendship is so powerful. It is having someone to tell you when you are being stupid, but who loves you enough to let you learn on your own. It is having someone to text at 2am when you are crying. It is having someone to drive you to target when you are sick. It is having someone there. It is so important to have yourself surrounded by good friends.

I know it can’t be easy to be there when I hate the world. I know it can’t be easy to stay when I try to push everyone away, but you stayed. I know it is hard to listen to me be so negative, but you did, and you always told me it would be okay. You always brought light to the darkness. You made me believe I could do it.

I don’t want to imagine where I would be without you.  There are not a lot of people in the world who would have stuck around when I was at my worst, and you did that and so much more. You are one of the most selfless people I know. You give everything you have to the people you love. The best friend who turns into family, that is my best friend.

Leave a Reply

