Life · Uncategorized

Go Eat A Hamburger

“Go Eat a Hamburger” yeah, really creative, because I haven’t heard that one before. I’m small, I get it. One thing that I felt like I was not allowed to talk about was my body, because I’m small. Growing up I saw how women who were small got attacked for their size. I wore t shirts and gym shorts until I was twelve years old. I didn’t want anything that fit me, because then no one could see my size. Because I’m small, so I should feel good about myself. But it wasn’t like that.

I dated a guy for four and a half years, and every single time we saw his family they made comments about how I must have an eating disorder because I was small. Not everyone who is small has an eating disorder. Yes it is a very real problem in our world, but I won’t go into that right now. Hearing that so often though, I started to think there was something wrong with me for being how I was. I was ashamed. I still have people harass me if I don’t finish my food. I still have people who make me feel bad for being the way I am.

The thing is, no matter what your size is, you should not be telling someone else what they should look like. Your size is not the important thing. Who you are is. Being happy is. Body shaming is never acceptable, no matter what you look like. It is never okay to make someone else feel bad about themselves. It is never okay to try to shame someone who is different than you. Can you imagine how much better the world would be if we all encouraged each other as much as we tore each other down? I can tell you, that tearing someone else down does not make you any better than them.

Society constantly sends mixed messages about what people should look like, what they should feel like, how they should act. Drop that. Be who you want to be. Be who you are happy with. Stop all the shaming. You are beautiful, you are amazing, and there is no one else like you.

Size and shape don’t matter. You are beautiful from the inside out. Why would you want to tell anyone any different? Why should you tell them they are anything other than beautiful? You shouldn’t. I dealt with being told I wasn’t pretty, that I was too small, that I would never be beautiful, that no one could ever love me. I had such a low self-esteem that I was shocked anytime told me I was beautiful. The world shouldn’t be like that.

Girls are mean, and as early on as I can remember in school I learned that you were mean to other girls to fit in. I learned that was the way to make yourself feel better, but it doesn’t really make you feel better. It makes everything so much worse.

Learn to encourage, learn to see the beauty in everyone. You are not the judge of anyone else. This is not a competition, this is life. Yours will get a lot better when you learn to love yourself and everyone around you.

3 thoughts on “Go Eat A Hamburger

  1. “Give that girl a sandwich”- An actual quote from an adult woman to my mom while I was dancing. I love food and you know that. Girls would always tell me I had nothing to complain about because I was so small. Shopping when you’re small like us is just as difficult! Finding shirts and dresses we can wear that we fill out and don’t need to alter is almost a miracle. I relate to this post girl.

    “Though she be but little, she is fierce”- Shakespeare.

    Like

Leave a Reply

