Life · Uncategorized

No, It Is Not Easy.

If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nothing at all. ~ Thumper.

This little bunny has a point. It is not ever going to be okay to say something mean. I know I’ve talked about this a little bit before, but I am talking specifically about when you are talking to someone about their jobs or their passions.

I know that sometimes my jobs looks easy. I know sometimes other peoples jobs look easy. But they probably aren’t. There is probably a lot more that goes into it than you realize. It is not okay to make someone feel like you do not respect them and their hard work. Sometimes the hardest part of a job is making it look easy, and sometimes there is so much. I have so many people who have told me that I must have the easiest job in the world, trust me when I say it is not. I am able to say that my job is hard, there are a lot of things that go into it that no one would ever realize. I do a lot of things to be able to make it look easy. Everyone who works hard can tell you that.

The thing is, peoples passions have to be developed. You telling them “oh it’s easy” “oh anyone can do that” is not fair. I’m pretty sure anything can do anything they want to, but not everyone is going to be good at it. We all have things that we love doing. I absolutely love to perform, anyone who ever has done theater can tell you that it takes a lot of hard work.

I have friends who do photography, something I can tell you I would never be able to do. They put so much work into it, from planning locations, to directing their models, to everything post production. Sometimes you have to edit because the lighting was bad, or to balance the color. It’s not easy to learn a photo editing software. No you can’t just “push a button”. I mean you can, but it won’t look good. I can throw a football, but it won’t be done well.

There is a huge difference between “everyone can do it” and “you are amazing at it”. “Everyone can do that” “Oh your job is so easy anyone could do it” those are not exactly great to hear. That undermines all of the hard work that I have put in. It makes me feel worthless, because if everyone can do it why should I be? It makes me feel smaller. It makes me feel like no one appreciate the work I do put in. It makes me feel like I don’t need to be here. It makes me feel like I shouldn’t try anything, since everyone can do it.

If you are insecure about what you do, if someone’s talent threatens you, that is your issue not them, so don’t take it out on them.

One thought on “No, It Is Not Easy.

Leave a Reply

