Life · Uncategorized

Why Wonder Woman Is Important

I’ve read countless articles on the new Wonder Woman movie that came out this weekend, and I finally saw the movie last night. I loved it. It is absolutely amazing, I think everyone should go and see it. But a lot of people don’t understand why it is important. Here are a few of my thoughts about the matter…

It is honestly so cool. Wonder Woman showed that women can be so much more than a pretty face.  We are strong, compassionate, we are fighters, we are courageous, and we will do anything for the people we love. Nothing can stop us, and nothing will.

The world is filled with strong women (and men), but it is also filled with people who tell us that we can’t be that. There are people who tell us our job is to stay quiet and look pretty. I wish I was making that up, but I’ve been told that. We fight every single day for things that some people are just given.

One moment that has always stuck with me was in 6th grade my history class talked about why we had never had a woman as president. My teacher talked about how a woman couldn’t handle it, and that we were too emotional and cared too much. I said that a woman could be president if she wanted to be, and his only response was “come find me when you become president and I’ll believe you”.

First of all, I can do anything I put my mind to. Second, it is not at all your place to make fun of me for standing up for what I believe in. I am the last girl you want to talk down to. I will fight you, because I have so much to prove. I’ve been laughed at, made fun of, told that I couldn’t do it, and I’ve heard no. I’ve worked in an office where some days I was the only girl. I’ve been told to give up because it is a man’s world. I might be little, but I am a little ball of fire. Do not tell me, or anyone that we should give up or not try. Sure, I care a lot about things. You could probably call me emotionally, but in a way that makes me stronger.

My parents taught me that I can do anything I set my mind to, I was raised thinking that I was equal. Because I should be. Don’t get me wrong, I’m 5’3” I need help moving stuff, or opening jars. But if you tell me I can’t do something, now I just have even more to prove.

This past Halloween I happened to be going through a really hard time in my life, and one of my friends invited me to a Halloween event with her and I needed a costume. I didn’t really want to go, but it was better than sitting at home crying. It would be a good distraction. Why am I telling you this? Well, I walked into the costume store fully expecting to walk out with some Star Wars related something. But then a Wonder Woman dress caught my eye. I tried it on, and I felt incredible. It fit so well, it was comfortable, and I loved it. I felt amazing all night long. There was something really amazing about passing a window and seeing my reflection, I felt so confident, which if we are being honest is hard for me. Sometimes, every girl should feel like Wonder Woman.

Wonder Woman is important, because in a way she is a part of all of us (ALL of us, not just girls). She is strong, she cares, and she will not be stopped. She carried a great burden, and she carried it well. She amazed people, she lead people, and she cared about the people. She brought new ideas and viewpoints. She was real and raw, she fought her battle, and she won.

Leave a Reply

