Friendship · Life · Uncategorized

The Real Side Of Greek Life

It’s not what you see in the movies. It’s not what you expect. It is so much more than that. I will forever be thankful for my sisters. Here’s the thing, when I accepted my bid, I didn’t really know what I was going into. But I’m so glad I did. I instantly gained girls who would support me, who would help me with classes, and who were always there if I needed anything. I know you always hear from the outside its hard to understand, and from the inside it’s hard to explain. It’s true in so many ways. But I’ll try for you.

I was nervous about going Greek, because I had heard all the horror stories. Sorority girls seem to have this negative reputation. I can tell you, not a single person in my chapter ever asked me to do anything I was uncomfortable with, they never forced me to go anywhere, they never forced me to drink or anything. I was loved, and important to them. They wanted me to be there. The chapter was filled with girls who had been in my place before, of being away from home, and not having friends. They know what it is like, and they are there for you.

People don’t talk about the community you build, not just in your chapter but other students in Greek life as well. I still have guys who check in on me who were in fraternities when I was in the sorority, I’ll get a message every few months just making sure I’m all good. It’s the same guys who would step up when drunk kids would try to hit on me at football games or protect me from the creepy guys in class. I could have never imagined I would gain brothers on campus. I am still in contact with girls from other chapters that I met during homecoming, or even during rush.

You never hear about the community service you are involved in either. My chapter made regular visits to the local Ronald McDonald house in Dallas, and had fundraisers for them each year as well. Each sorority supports a different charity, and it was incredible to be able to support each other in that. You knew when you had a fundraiser event, girls from every chapter on campus would be there helping you. Greek life is also active in campus community service days and things like that.

Some people didn’t agree with having mandatory study hours, but it is something you need to have. It forced me to set time aside to actually study and have people hold me accountable for that. The whole reason you are at school is classes, and I think that they did an amazing job making sure we were prepared for success. You should have been studying more than the required hours anyways.

The very real side of Greek life, was I had entered a community where I instantly had support. I could go to the library, and I could find someone I knew to help me. I could go to our house and have someone just to spend time with. I had girls I could text at any point in the day for anything. That became really important for me, as I joined at the same time as I was going through very rough times. They didn’t ever ask me to talk about what I was going through, but they made sure I knew that they were there for me. They will be there through the good, the bad, the ugly, the funny, and everything between. I promise you, I could message any of my sisters right now asking for help and they would respond asking what I needed.

Joining a sorority meant that I had a family. I saw these girls three times a week at least, I started making friends instantly. No, you are not going to be best friends with all 50 girls. There is a chance you won’t like everyone in the chapter. But you don’t have to. It is hard to get 50 girls together and like every single one of them. I love all of my sisters, but I had girls I was closer with. That is part of why you have Big/Little and families.

It is so much more love than you could imagine. It means that you have someone to be excited for you when you get your dream job, it means having someone to cry with when you had a bad week. It means having sisters, who will always be there for you. Even after you have moved away, they are there for you.

When they say it is not just for college, but for life, they are right. I moved to a new state and took a new job and I was terrified, and then I realized that I was surrounded by some of my sisters, and honestly it was so comforting. It is something that will be with you for the rest of your life, wherever you go. I’m so grateful for that. It is a bond that I share with women across the world, and there is a joyful little leap your heart does when you find out someone is your sister.

~We Live For Each Other~

 

Leave a Reply

